on how to be Royal, Thor style!

Dear Ladies and Gents,

Greetings!

Now you might be wondering what I mean by being royal. First off, I am pretty sure I defined “royal” people, as those who we know to be royal (such as kings, queens, prince and princesses) in my first-ever blog post: Formal Introduction. If you happened to miss this and would love to go back and check it out (I know you’re just dying to do so), but is too lazy to check the archive I’ll just link you up:

https://goingroyal.wordpress.com/2014/05/12/formal-introduc/

Now you have absolutely no reason not go and check it out! 🙂

So what exactly do I mean when I say going royal? Isn’t royal those who are lucky bastards born and raised by actual kings and queens with a kingdom under their rule? Aren’t those royals?  Well, it’s a yes and a no; here’s why.

Yes, kings, queens, prince and princess (and their next generation of kings, queens, prince and princesses) are indeed royal by virtue of birth. That is, they are royalty by virtue of their position as kings, queens… etc. Now, is that the only criterion for being royalty? I would argue no.

This is where the “no” part of my answer comes in. Although it is true that royal people are born royal by virtue of the social, political and cultural status of their parents – and therefore gives them an automatic right as the next in kin. However, I would argue that this is not always the except. Case in point: the movie Thor (Spoiler Alert!).

If you’ve watched the movie Thor, you would know that though he was – by rule – the prince, and thus the next in line to be the King of Asgard, his father did not immediately made him king. Actually, he didn’t let Thor even near it. When Thor was insistent, his father threw him on Earth (like we’re a place for dump – but I digress) to teach him a lesson. Now why would his father do that? To teach him something: to teach him how to earn the right to be king.

Now, isn’t it a silly thing for Thor to earn his right as a king – he had the right! He was his father’s son! He had every right! He didn’t need to earn it! Well, that’s what he thinks.

I used Thor as an example – not only because it is one of my favourite movies at all times (it also helps that Chris Hemsworth was just perfect as Thor) – but also because of the message that it’s trying to get across. I believe that this movie is about stepping up to your role, whatever that may be. In this case, Thor needed to step us to be the rightful king of Asgard. So what is one’s role? Well, whatever you want it to be. Your role, is in essence is the person that you aim to be throughout your life – the person that you have made yourself to be. This, I believe is what to be a royal is – to be who you want to be; to not only dream on, but to act on those dreams.

I’ve always dreamed of being a royal – to be a princess, a queen. But maturity has shown me that what makes a princess a real princess and a queen, a real queen, is not because they were told to be so, but because they wanted to be so. The best queens and princesses have always been those who believed in themselves, and who fought for the right to be one through their own efforts.

So how to be royal? Be yourself. Dream as far and as vast as you can – and make it happen. That is what going royal is all about. 😉

Cheers to us royals!

R

Leave a comment